Custom Search

Tuesday, February 9, 2010

blitzen trapper

Blitzen Trapper | Blitzen Trapper Portland | Sub Pop Records | Wild Mountain Nation | Rolling Stone | A second song from Furr | God & Suicide
Blitzen Trapper is a Portland, Oregon-based experimental folk rock band signed to Sub Pop Records.Formed in 2000, the band currently operates as a sextet, with Eric Earley , Erik Menteer (guitar/keyboard), Brian Adrian Koch (drums/vocals), Michael VanPelt, (bass), Drew Laughery (keyboards), and Marty Marquis (guitar, keyboards, vocals). Blitzen Trapper self-released its first three albums. “Wild Mountain Nation” was #98 on Rolling Stone’s list of the 100 Best Songs of 2007.

Blitzen Trapper released its third album, Wild Mountain Nation, in 2007 to much critical acclaim from critics such as Pitchfork Media, The Nerve, and Spin Magazine. The group signed to Sub Pop Records in the summer of 2007.

The release of Furr in 2008 was a high-water mark for the group as their eclectic new songs received a two-page feature in Rolling Stone. The album was ranked #13 on Rolling Stone’s Best Albums of 2008 while the title track was ranked #4 on the magazine’s Best Singles of 2008. The title track was also featured on an episode of Chuck on December 8, 2008 in the episode titled “Chuck vs. the Delorean” and on the Numb3rs episode Old Soldiers on December 4, 2009. ” A second song from Furr, “God & Suicide”, was featured in the opening of the March 9, 2009 episode of Chuck titled “Chuck vs. The Lethal Weapon”.

No comments:

Post a Comment